Ground truth in Open Internet webinar series

Join this Creative Commons Open Journalism Webinar series tackling misinformation, disinformation and much more, taking place between January and March 2022.

When?

  • Between 20 January and 23 March

Where?

  • Online

About the Event

Journalism provides a crucial public service. Access to verifiable information and stories that question the underlying terrain of power is critical to democratic societies. Yet, journalism as we know it faces existential new challenges. Increasingly, journalists face work-halting financial and ethical challenges, as well as threats to their physical and digital safety, when sharing information online. Misinformation and disinformation campaigns in the media challenge collective notions of ground truth. They challenge the bedrock and meaning of open internet.

Journalism also faces newfound opportunities, as the tectonic plates of power shift in our shared digital landscape. We witness the rising role of nonprofit media sources, filling gaps where traditional media organizations have shuttered; the rising power of crowdsourcing information and fact checking, and a powerful new role open internet can play in knowledge sharing.

Join Creative Commons as they explore what public, open options our news needs, and how to take advantage of these options. Through particular cases in Brazil, Croatia, India, the US, as well as global examples, the webinar series explores topics of:

– Online narrative power as social power

– Access to information and paywalls in the time of COVID

– How to address mis & disinformation campaigns shifting the focus of traditional news audiences

– The rising role of nonprofit media and the gap they fill.

– Lessons on attribution of CC licensed images and videos

– Open licensed media

This webinar series will culminate in a ½ day training providing:

– Copyright basics for journalists

– Tools for open access research

– Access to usable photo and media archives

– How to best use open licensed media

Cost: Free or pay what you can

Key Dates

Open Internet and Journalism January 20, 7:00 – 8:00 pm UTC / 2:00 – 3:00 pm EST

Addressing Misinformation and Disinformation Campaigns: a Community-Led Approach January 27, 4:30 – 5:30 pm UTC / 11:30 am – 12:30 pm EST

Risks with Digital Platforms: Language and Narrative Power February 8, 2:00 – 3:00 pm UTC / 9:00 – 10:00 am EST

Gunfire and Ground Truth: Investigative Journalism Using Creative Commons February 15, 2:00 – 3:00 pm UT C/ 9:00 – 10:00 am EST

CC licenses and Combatting Disinformation Campaigns March 3, 2:00 – 3:00 pm UTC / 9:00 – 10:00 am EST

Free Online Training March 23, 2:00 pm – 6:00 pm UTC/ 10:00 am-2:00 pm EDT

More details regarding this event and tickets can be found here.